Chris Damian writes
Mezzo: the in-between
Catholicism and conversion therapy: how I survived
1
0:00
-1:02:08

Catholicism and conversion therapy: how I survived

"The abuse scandal just drives me mad, because I felt that I could really relate. I was one of the many repressed seminarians and priests headed toward acting out."
1

I had a conversation recently with Christopher Dowling on conversion therapy and the Catholic Church. In the previous episode, Christopher shared the story of his Catholic upbringing, as a youth group kid, a NET missionary, a University of Dallas student, and a seminarian. Today, we’ll be picking up where we left off. Chris will share how he first connected with Bob Schuchts, the Theology of the Body Institute, and the John Paul II Healing Center. It was here that he and others were exposed to carefully crafted sexual orientation change efforts. He also struggled in these settings, as he put it, as both a victim and victimizer. He also felt like these settings increased the type of repressive sexual dysfunction in him that creates abusers like McCarrick. 

Christopher’s experiences have a lot to teach the Church. I learned a lot from my conversation with him, and I’m sure you will too.

Catholicism and conversion therapy pt 1

Next Episode

Share

Leave a comment

1 Comment
Chris Damian writes
Mezzo: the in-between
Catholicism, intersectionality, dialogue, deconstruction, sexuality, race, creativity, zebra pants, etc. Lectures, papers, and conversations. By Chris Damian.